Our Constitution

Walkers Lane Allotment Association Constitution.

1. Name    The name of the Association shall be the Walkers Lane Allotments Association.

2. Objects    The objects of the Association shall be:-

(i) To exist as a not-for-profit organisation.

(ii) To comply with Equality Law, irrespective of age, gender, faith, race, ethnic origin, disability, or sexual orientation.

(iii) To assist all members in the pursuit of gardening as a recreation including the provision of reasonable support to new gardeners on the site.

(iv) To arrange third party liability insurance cover for the benefit of association members.

(v) To take action to protect members against damage, trespass, and theft where possible.

(vi) To Conduct negotiations with the local authority for the benefit of association members

(vii) To communicate with members of the Association via meetings, notice board, and social media.

3. Membership    The Association shall consist of such persons whose applications for membership are approved by the committee.

4. Subscriptions    Every member shall pay on entry into the Association an annual subscription, the sum to be determined by an Annual General Meeting, and renewable on the first of April each year.

5. Arrears    Any member who is two months in arrears with his or her subscription shall be held to have ceased to be a member unless explanation in writing is given to the committee of extenuating circumstances.

6. Officers    The officers of the Association shall be Chairman, Secretary, and Treasurer.   They shall be elected at each Annual General Meeting.   Retiring officers shall be eligible for re-election. They shall be ex-officio members of the committee.

7. Committee    The affairs of the Association shall be conducted by a committee of Management of not less than six members.   The committee shall retire at the Annual General meeting but shall be eligible for re-election.   Casual vacancies shall be filled by the committee and the members so appointed shall hold office until the next Annual General Meeting.   A quorum shall be five members.

8. General Meetings.  The Annual General Meeting shall be held in November of each year. Ten members eligible to vote being in attendance shall constitute a quorum.  In the event of equal voting the Chair will have the casting vote. Audited accounts, Chairman, Secretary and Treasures reports will be presented.  Officers of the Committee will also be elected/re-elected.

Special General Meetings shall be called upon the requisition in writing of at least ten members.

No party political or sectarian discussions shall be raised or resolutions proposed at either committee or General Meetings.

9. Bank Account    The committee shall open a banking account in the name of the Association and all monies received from any source on behalf of the Association shall be paid in to such account.   Cheques shall be signed by two out of three signatories.

10. Auditor    An auditor shall be appointed who is not a member of the committee to audit the accounts and report thereon to the Annual General Meeting.